Elements of Thought #2

Here is the follow-up to the research work. What I am proposing is to use the original set of platonic solids, the first mathematical ideas about space, as archetypal models that can act as gateways to an astral space (an imaginary, creative realm) through the use of Hermetic magickal techniques and Chaos magick, where I will attempt to communicate and record the entities that I discover there. This project will be process-based, documented as much as possible.

 

The shapes which I have constructed will become fetish objects, for use as focal points for daily meditations (40 min per day, rotating schedule). I will set up my meditation-station (astral-spaceship) in a specific way for each solid, emphasizing the qualities of the essence it corresponds to. I will use particular lighting, incense, and sound to direct my perception towards the realm that the solid represents. Here are the pictures and correspondences:

 Image

Tetrahedron, Fire

Lights: Red

Incence: Dragons Blood

 

Cube, Earth

Lights: Green

Incense: Cedar

 

Octahedron, Air

Lights: White

Incense: Ambergris

 

Icosohedron, Water

Lights: Blue

Incense: Myrrh

I’ll be recording, sketching, and taking notes during these times, and presenting them all at the critique. The decorated spacial models along with my documentation (notes and photos) and a small zine-book detailing my experiences and communications from the past few weeks.

Having been interested in the western occult tradition for a number of years, and I’ve found that the art world is one of the few places it can be investigated and talked about openly as an art-form. I wish to promote an awareness of magick as a tool for creative insight as well as encourage a dialogue in hopes of dispelling some of the cultural misunderstandings that are prevalent.

related:

Plato’s Timaeus Translated byBenjamin Jowett

Agrippa, Henry Cornelius of Nettescheim. Three books of occult philosophy.Annotated by Donald Tyson (2005). llewelyn worldwide.

Denning, Melita, and Osborne Phillips. The Foundations of High Magick. (2000)

Carroll, Peter J. Liber Null (1978).

About ryanginter

http://www.ryanginter.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elements of Thought #2

  1. I really like this project. Although it would have been awesome to see you construct solids large enough for you to physically meditate it, you kept the real idea very much alive. Its an interesting subject to explore, and I agree with you that the art world could be the place to do it. Ive become more interested in meditation myself over the years, recently enough to seriously do it regularly. It will be great to hear some of the insight you will discover on this personal journey.

    • ryanginter says:

      Thanks man. Regardless of the size, I have entered into these shapes multiple times already. I’m running into some difficulties with how to exhibit my experiences though. Like you said, they are primarily personal. The average Art critic is a spectator, not a psychonaut. The Arts of meditation and magick aren’t exactly spectator sports…

      Maybe I will choose something more tangible for the next project…

  2. Pingback: κάλυξ | Interdisc Studio 2 – A01

Leave a Reply

