Spaces Forgotten… or Rarely Noticed #2

So I’ve decided to go with a single build of a Staedtler HB Pencil. It will be roughly 10′ in height and as realistic as possible. I am hoping to change people’s perspectives of the spaces around them, so they may have a deeper appreciation for the little things in life. As I said before one of my inspirations for this piece was the movie the Borrowers. I have also been researching a couple large scale installation pieces. 

I took a little trip to the Home Depot yesterday to get some ideas on materials and to basically map out how this build is going to come together. I believe I have a pretty solid idea. I have taken photos of my notes to show my thought process.

Here are a few links and photos of my studies:

http://www.walkerart.org/collections/artworks/spoonbridge-and-cherry

http://www.laumeiersculpturepark.org/tony-tasset-eye

http://hollywoodmoviecostumesandprops.blogspot.ca/2011/07/oversized-movie-props-from-borrowers.html

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spaces Forgotten… or Rarely Noticed #2

  1. I really like the concept of taking an object that is small and thin which students use on a daily to transforming it into a large scale sculpture. I like how ambitious the idea is. I was looking at your sketchbook postings and it is looking great so far. I was wondering if you were planning on making a maquette first or are you just going to dive into making the large sculpture?

    • bartyparty44 says:

      Thank you for your feedback! To answer your question, I will not be doing a small scale model first, I’ll just dive straight into the large scale and spend as much time possible perfecting it, besides, I’ve already got the pencil as my small scale haha

      Cheers,

      Bart de Bekker

  2. brennalinton says:

    I love the borrowers! Did you know it was originally a children’s novel? You should read it !

  3. jenm449 says:

    The borrowers is great! Making people feel small and reminding some of a childhood memories is a great combination!

Leave a Reply

